Menswear Industry Turns Out to Honor Esquire’s Nick Sullivan

The menswear industry turned out in force Monday night to honor Nick Sullivan who is celebrating his 20th anniversary with Esquire magazine this year.

Thanks to Todd Snyder, who got the ball rolling, the Council of Fashion Designers of America will create the Nick Sullivan and CFDA Menswear Design Scholarship for a deserving student studying menswear.

Douglas Hand, Dao-Yi Chow, Michael Carl

Douglas Hand, Dao-Yi Chow and Michael Carl.

Matteo Prandoni/

From Guy Trebay of the New York Times, Ted Stafford of Men’s Health, Bruce Pask of Bergdorf Goodman and Jian DeLeon from Nordstrom to fashion attorney Douglas Hand and designers Dao-Yi Chow, Conner McKnight, George Sotelo, John Bartlett and more, a who’s-who of the men’s industry turned out at Jean’s restaurant in SoHo to toast Sullivan and catch up before they jet off to Europe for the upcoming men’s shows.

Andrew Taylor, George Sotelo

Andrew Taylor and George Sotelo

Matteo Prandoni/

Steven Kolb, chief executive officer of the CFDA, told the gathering that when Snyder reached out to him to brainstorm about how best to honor Sullivan, he suggested the establishment of a scholarship. Although the CFDA has been offering scholarships for 25 years, this one is different because it’s earmarked for a menswear student — someone who can “be the next Todd,” he said, adding that Snyder has “been so supportive of young talent” over the course of his career.

Josh Peskowitz, Todd Snyder, Jian DeLeon

Josh Peskowitz, Todd Snyder and Jian DeLeon.

Matteo Prandoni/

But Snyder was quick to point out that it was Esquire creative director who was instrumental in giving him the courage to eventually start his own brand. “The little things you did changed my career,” Snyder told Sullivan, and it was his honor to give back and also help clear the way for a student who planned to follow the menswear path.

Sullivan thanked Snyder and the CFDA for “turning what could have been a non-event into something touching,” and he said his goal for the scholarship is that it continues beyond this year and honors other people — in a variety of fields — who have “moved the needle for menswear.”

Connor McKnight, Bruce Pask, Florence Sullivan

Connor McKnight, Bruce Pask and Florence Sullivan.

Matteo Prandoni/

Jack Carlson

Jack Carlson

Matteo Prandoni/

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top