Every ‘America’s Next Top Model’ Winner: The Prizes, Success Stories and Where Are They Now?

The first episode of “America’s Next Top Model” debuted on UPN (United Paramount Network) in May 2003, welcoming different aspiring models who shared one common dream: to be “on top.” Created and hosted by former supermodel Tyra Banks, the show, which was transferred to The CW in 2006, quickly became a pop culture phenomenon and fell in the likes of fashion enthusiasts all over the world.

The competition series featured 24 seasons. In every cycle, a group of models was put through various challenges to test their modeling ability, including photoshoots and runway shows. Each week, one or more contestants were eliminated based on their performance.

In addition to Tyra Banks, the original judging panel consisted of Janice Dickinson, Kimora Lee Simmons and Beau Quillian. Over the years, Nigel Barker, Eric Nicholson, Nolé Marin, J. Alexander, André Leon Talley and Twiggy have also joined the franchise as main judges.

AMERICA'S NEXT TOP MODEL, (from left): judges J. Alexander, Nigel Barker, host Tyra Banks, Lauren Conrad, 'Fortress of Fierceness', (Season 13, ep. 1303, aired Sept. 16, 2009), 2003-. photo: Michael Desmond / © CW / Courtesy Everett Collection

J. Alexander, Nigel Barker, Tyra Banks and Lauren Conrad on “ANTM” Cycle 13, 2009.

©CW Network/Courtesy Everett Collection

For Cycle 23, Banks was replaced by Rita Ora and Ashley Graham, Drew Elliott and Law Roach joined the judging panel. The last two seasons of the show aired on VH1.

Winnie Harlow, Eva Marcille, Yaya DaCosta, Analeigh Tipton and Nyle DiMarco are some of the most successful models to come out of the franchise. In 2018, Harlow, who was part of Cycle 21, said the show “really didn’t do anything for my career” while appearing on “Watch What Happens Live!”

On social media, “ANTM” has faced criticism for promoting unhealthy body image standards as well as claims that contestants’ insecurities were exploited. Cycle 17 winner Lisa D’Amato said she experienced an “insane amounts of trauma” while doing the show.

AMERICA'S NEXT TOP MODEL, Kahlen Rondot, (Cycle 4), 2003-, © UPN / courtesy Everett Collection

Kahlen Rondot from Cycle 4 of “ANTM” in 2003.

©UPN/Courtesy Everett Collection

In 2020, Tyra Banks apologized to all contestants who felt mistreated during their time in the competition. “Been seeing the posts about the insensitivity of some past ANTM moments and I agree with you,” Banks tweeted in 2020. “Looking back, those were some really off choices. Appreciate your honest feedback and am sending you so much love and virtual hugs.”

“ANTM” ended in 2018. The show has inspired many international spinoff versions, including “German’s Next Topmodel,” which is hosted by Heidi Klum, “Britain’s Next Top Model,” “Mexico’s Next Top Model” and “China’s Next Top Model.”

Below, WWD looks back at all the winners of “America’s Next Top Model.”

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top